We're here to help!
Call for suggestions or assistance

Customer Reviews

52 Reviews Available.
Sort By Goto Page

Vic Firth VICKEY Drum Key

Rated By: Scott Petty on 10/10/2016 6:21:00 PM
Title: Convenient Key

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
The Vic Key is very convenient for carrying a drum key, it's comfortable to use and it's at a semi low price. I loved this key until unexplainably it fell apart and I can't put it together (the key separated from the necklace). The key still works and other than that I liked it.

Frank Epstein 6G Medium Grenadillo Castanets

Rated By: Steve Lee on 9/21/2016 8:01:00 PM
Title: great sound

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These castanets are my go to pair. They sound so much better than any others I've heard. First time I used them in a rehearsal, the whole percussion section turned and looked. All wanted to try them at break

Remo RT-0008-00 8" Tunable Practice Pad

Rated By: Scott Petty on 8/29/2016 1:01:00 AM
Title: The Overlooked Pad

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I've heard many people say that this pad is a piece of junk and very basic. It isn't a piece of junk but I believe it is a great pad for beginners or people on a smaller budget. It sounds more like a drum than most pads do and still provides rebound like any other pad can. It also mounts on to a Remo practice pad stand!

Vic Firth Virtuoso M210 Soft Marimba Mallets

Rated By: Stockten on 8/18/2016 2:04:00 PM

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These mallets were great for my needs. I had a chorale type piece to play for an audition and these were great! Not too soft, but just right.

Innovative Percussion Chris Lamb CL-X4 Medium Bright Xylophone Mallets

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 8/12/2016 8:08:00 AM
Title: Great All Purpose Mallet

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This mallet is articulate, but dark in sound. It also manages to produce a surprisingly full sound for its size. The mallet is also very well balanced and comes with a thinner rattan handle that flexes a bit, which feels great to me.

Dynasty Elite MT-60234M-BK 6/10/12/13/14" Qunts, Black, w/ T-Max Carrier

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 8/8/2016 11:49:00 AM
Title: Great Drums

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
In year 2 with three of these. The heavier feel aside, we are in love with these tenors. The U brace is much more rigid feeling than the spacers of other companies and is lower maintenance by a long shot. The deep cut option is probably contributing, but the sound is very resonant and warm. The drums don't seem to enjoy being tuned as high as a Yamaha set, but maintain a lot of clarity and volume at lower tensions than I'm used to. For comparison, I usually tune Yamahas to an A7 chord while the Dynasties seem to like an F7 chord, but could go lower if they wanted.

I feel like the rims could be heavier, but maybe its their lightness that contributes to the great tone of these drums.

Dynasty shipped them out with a custom finish matched to the uniform in a short amount of time. Addressed one drum damaged in shipping quickly and without hassle.

Dynasty MS-XZ14BK DFZ 14" Marching Snare, Black

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 8/8/2016 11:40:00 AM
Title: Great Snare

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I'm not sure why Dynasty is followed with this reputation of inferior quality. This drum in particular might be the nicest sounding marching snare I've every played. The drum has a fairly dry sound, but the guts can generate a very lively and wet sound if you want it. The instrument is very sensitive and actually has some maple tone to it, which is a first for me and marching snares.

The drum is very rigid, but light weight. The parts all work well and feel good. We're in year two with our set (done in a custom finish). The stand and harness use a lot of hardware store parts, so replacing pieces has been easy the few times something has gotten lost on the field (kids weren't tightening parts enough at first). Dynasty addressed a drum damaged in shipping quickly and without hassle.

LP LP395 Rawhide Maracas

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 8/8/2016 11:24:00 AM
Title: The Best So Far

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Easily the nicest sounding maracas I've played so far (the only rawhide so far, so take that for what it is worth). The sound of these maracas has weight, density, and projection, unlike the many cheaper wooden maracas I've come across, but still retains the warmth that keeps these from being simply obnoxious. A necessary upgrade from its plastic siblings if you are able.

ProMark TXDCBYOSW BYOS Marching Snare Sticks

Rated By: Scott Petty on 7/30/2016 3:32:00 PM
Title: Perfecto!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Once again another great pair of drumsticks by Promark. These sticks are obviously perfectly designed for stick tricks and the regular diddle.

Mike Balter Pro Vibe 25B Jazz Birch Vibe Mallets

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/26/2016 8:01:00 AM
Title: Great all purpose vibe mallet

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These mallets were given to me after a tour of the Balter factory. I've used them in a lot of situations successfully and have been my go to vibraphone mallet for about 5 years now. They sit between the greens and blues in the series for hardness, but are remarkably short. The shortness hasn't proven to be a problem. Makes them light and quick for 20th century music (George Crumb, etc) as well as musicals with a lot of close chords, like A Chorus Line. They lack decent leverage, as a result.

Innovative Percussion Anders Astrand AA30 Hard Vibe/Marimba Mallets

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/26/2016 7:52:00 AM
Title: Not what you'd think...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
First off, hard is not a good term for these mallets. They are very lush and dense sounding... Probably the softest vibraphone mallets that I own. The mallet heads have a giant brass insert in them, giving them a lot of weight, which explains why these are valued by front ensembles with young players as well as multi percussionist. The rattan handles are pretty standard, but the mallet as a whole is over 16" long, making them a bit tough to use in tight situations.

First, Innovative should produce these with a birch handle. Second, there needs to be a harder version of these mallet for ensemble work. Great mallet, but not quite what I expected.

Vic Firth Corpsmaster SRH Ralph Hardimon Wood Tip Marching Snare Sticks

Rated By: Scott Petty on 6/21/2016 9:18:00 PM
Title: Perfect!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These were the first pair of marching sticks (and drum sticks in general) I bought. Being clueless to percussion at the time I'm glad I made a choice I would not regret. Even today these are still one of my best pairs of drum sticks. They provide great control and sound.

Zildjian A Symphonic A0427 18 Inch French Cymbal

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 5/12/2016 7:23:00 PM
Title: Great cymbals....description is wrong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These cymbals are very thin, but have a beautiful sound. Great for young hands or small bands. These cannot drown out my band of 24, but still have a beautiful, full sound.

Innovative Percussion Field Series FS-2T "Shorty" Tenor Sticks

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 5/12/2016 6:50:00 PM
Title: Great Tenor Stick

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These sticks really are tenor sticks. So many models out there are trying to keep a big, dark sound that might be a little too much like a mallet. These have a brighter articulate sound that is truly distinct from a mallet without being too timbale like.

The heartwood used by Innovative is incredibly inconsistant, however.

Innovative Percussion CP-1R Corps Style Practice Pad

Rated By: Scott Petty on 5/11/2016 8:44:00 PM
Title: Amazing Pad!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I came to WGI Championships desperately in need of a new practice pad considering I only had two pads (one was a six inch and the other was the classic Remo pad). I was just about to leave the tent for the last time and I saw this amazing pad for $38 that also came with a free T-shirt (that was only at WGI). I've been using it for the past month and it has been extraordinary in helping me build skills and stick control most importantly. Definitely would recommend to anyone of any skill level.

Grover G1-6-E 14x6.5 G1 Concert Snare Drum, Charcoal Ebony

Rated By: Justin on 5/2/2016 12:04:00 PM
Title: Great Drum!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This drum is perfect!! I ordered it from percussion source a few months ago and it has been great! You can easily turn the snare in and off and the sound quality is priceless! I will be ordering another one of these soon!!

Malletech Chamber Series CH4 Soft Marimba Mallets

Rated By: Micah Harrow on 4/30/2016 10:25:00 PM
Title: Great mallets

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I love my ch4s. They have a nice weight: heavy enough to get a huge sound but not so heavy as to be un-maneuverable. They feel top heavy in the hand which gives great leverage to get a deep, full sound and high volume without punching. They roll very smoothly and work great for heavy notes as well as sensitive playing. Obviously, they excel in the lower octaves but I've found that with a firmer stroke they can work higher up with notes above the treble staff. So far, I am really enjoying these mallets.

Innovative Percussion Concert Series CB-4 Hard Bass Drum Mallet

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/19/2016 12:00:00 PM
Title: Very Unique, but Aggressive

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This mallet is extremely heavy like its siblings and, as a results, it shares their heavier, darker sound.

The rubber ball is incredibly punchy. It's probably too much for all but extremely percussive and outdoor uses. No audibly click to the attack and plenty of bottom to the sound. Probably the purest form of punch out there.

Although these mallets may seem like good mallets for more rhythmic playing (rite of spring, 16th rhythms, etc), they are incredibly heavy and very big sounding. Also the head may stick to the drum head if you slice at all, slowing you down more. Much better for big, slow, but clear rhythms.

Black Swamp SoundArt TD1 Tambourine 10" Chromium 25, Double Row, Calf Head

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/19/2016 11:50:00 AM
Title: Articulate, but characterless.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Blackswamp makes a clunky, but generally high quality tamborine. The transluscent heads do seem to put up with high humidity better than Grover's white calf heads. Overall, the drum is pretty high quality, if a bit more aggressive than a Grover.

However, the chromium jingles are worth addressing. Chromium jingles have a fantastic amount of bite. Couple that with Blackswamps more aggressive and articulate engineering, you end up with a very articulate and aggressive instrument (called a "Bandorine" by a friend due to its ability to cut through a full concert band). However, the chromium lacks any of the shimmer and buzzing overtones that many other metals have. This is where the Grovers tend to win out over the blackswamp tambourines and this instrument represents that difference in its highest distilled form.

Vic Firth Corpsmaster SMG Murray Gusseck Marching Snare Sticks

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/19/2016 11:04:00 AM
Title: Big and Bright

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These sticks are large diameter sticks and you'll definitely feel it in the hand. However the balance on most pairs is pretty even, so the stick rebounds pretty easily.

The sound is not that big. This stick is the complete opposite of the Mike Jackson sticks for those of you who have played that one. Emphasis in the sound is on articulation and brightness with almost no boom or depth. Not a bad sound, but different in philosophy. You'll definitely hear the snare drums with this stick.

The legendary Vic Firth consistency has lagged a little bit over the last few years. Of the two pairs I've bought, one felt like a pair of concert sticks and the others felt more like Hardimons.

Remo Skyndeep M6-R715-S4-SD003 7.15" R-Series Bongo Head, Calfskin Graphic

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/19/2016 10:01:00 AM
Title: Good Synthetic Alternative

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I have a set of these on a set of LP Aspire bongos. The tone isn't as full as real calf or goat, but is much warmer than the Evans Tri Center heads. Very durable as well with no coating to wear off. Color is just a tad off, making them look a little cheap.

If you want that piercing bongo rim shot sound for multi percussion pieces, go with the Evans heads, but for everything else, this is a great choice.

Innovative Percussion James Ancona IP2004 Hard Birch Marimba Mallets

Rated By: Jon on 4/16/2016 9:23:00 AM
Title: Excellent choice of mallets

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These mallets are incredible for projecting sound and especially for the lower octaves. They're so much better than the Jim Casella ones as these don't attack the notes as hard without giving that splashy sound. The birch handles are the best especially if you play a lot. It won't split out of your hand!

Vic Firth Tim Genis STG2 #2 Leggerio Persimmon Wood Tip Sticks

Rated By: Stephen Lee on 3/16/2016 7:04:00 PM
Title: great feeling stick

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
With a high shoulder, a long neck and a very different bead, these are unusual sticks. Until you feel how quickly you can move them. Think "Scherazade".

Frank Epstein C1 "Cymbelt" Bass Drum/Cymbal Attachment

Rated By: Stephen Lee on 3/16/2016 7:00:00 PM
Title: Wonderful unit

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This item really holds the cymbal well. With the cradle on the side, it makes the perfect combination. I use an 18 on the drum and 17" Zildjian Classic Orchestra crash.

Grover PMA-A Musical Anvil, Pitches 1 & 3

Rated By: Stephen Lee on 3/16/2016 6:56:00 PM
Title: Holst "Second Suite" - Blacksmith Got to have!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Great cut thru sound

Grover T2/GS 10" Projection-Plus German Silver Double Row Tambourine

Rated By: Stephen Lee on 3/15/2016 3:53:00 PM
Title: Great sound. My always with me tambourine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This is my go-to tambourine. I own different brands and different models but this one is there at the first rehearsal and usually for the concert as well. Fantastic sound and sensitivity. I have the roll ring on mine and it doesn't change the sound or response. (Yes, I can do a roll with out the ring but this makes it easy.)

Pearl Philharmonic PHF-1412-101 14x12 Ply Maple Field Drum, Walnut

Rated By: Stephen Lee on 3/15/2016 3:47:00 PM
Title: A "wow" sound

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
When I show up with the Pearl Philharmonic 14x12 field snare, directors compliment me on my sound. They love it. I love the response. I can play PPP or FFF and it sounds great everywhere.

Marimba One Wave Wrap WWB1 Hard Birch Marimba Mallets

Rated By: Daniel on 10/21/2015 1:22:00 PM
Title: Best

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
The Wave Wraps are the best marimba mallets I've used. Generally they have a nice full sound with well-balanced lows and highs. They play like multi-tone mallets, you can get good soft sounds even out of the WWB1, the hardest in the series. Contact sound is minimal. Length and weight are very comfortable. Both the heads and the handles are very durable. I would recommend the WWB1 and WWB2 primarily, if you cannot buy the entire series - after 2-3 years I even bought a backup set of each of these two models because I use these two all the time.

One thing to note is that the head sizes might differ on rare occasions, which is due to, if I'm correct, Marimba One having changed, at one point, the tension with which they make the heads. I recommend you check each mallet you are getting and let them know if you experience inconsistencies.

I give it 5 stars because this issue should be very rare and they have the best customer service, should you encounter any problems.

(I haven't used any of these with rattan handles, but birch only.)

Encore Nancy Zeltsman NZ3B Medium Hard Birch Marimba Mallets

Rated By: William Little on 9/2/2015 4:56:00 PM
Title: Professional Mallets Everyone Should Own

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I am studying at Missouri State University as a percussion performance major. In order to play in the university percussion ensemble, all players are required to purchase these exact mallets, and it wasn't until I bought my own that I learned why.
These mallets are excellent for nearly all types of marimba music. They can be used for slow, dramatic pieces (such as a number of Keiko Abe compositions) or for fairly harder and more technical "chop busting" pieces. Well balanced and long lasting, these mallets are a great place to start into the world of professional gear for both the novice and experienced.

Bergerault KV-PS30G 3.0 Octave Performance Vibraphone, Gridiron II Frame w/Motor

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 8/1/2015 11:58:00 PM
Title: Knocks you flat everytime

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I have been teaching in a group with one of these vibraphones for a few years now and, compared to the yamahas and mussels that I'm normally around, this thing is always a slap to the face (in a good way). These instruments are very dark and heavy sounding, but are also devastatingly loud. This vibraphone has no trouble projecting over a 130 piece marching band in the hands of a woodwind or string player, unamplified. On top of the unique and full tone quality, this instrument is remarkably durable, showing almost no signs of wear after about 4 or 5 seasons.

Yamaha SFZ MS-9314WCH 14x12" Marching Snare, White, Chrome Hardware

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/30/2015 2:58:00 PM
Title: Sports Car Snare Drum

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These drums sound pretty nice. I haven't played the maple version yet (all of my experience has been with the older birch models). The hardware does its job and does it well. The drums have a very articulate and relatively focused tone. I found the Yamahas to be much more focused than its Pearl counter part (granted, the shell material could have been the difference) and the Yamahas definitely lacked resonance compared to the Pearls. Depends on what you want.

I do find the Yamaha drums to require far more maintenance than its Pearl counterparts and definitely experiences a shorter life span.

Overall, these drums suffer from being designed for corps by corps. Almost all the major marching drum manufactures have this problem, but Yamaha seems to suffer from it the most. If these drums are not babied, they'll fall apart pretty quickly.

Evans B14GCSS 14" Orchestral Staccato Snare Drum Head

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/30/2015 2:51:00 PM
Title: Very good for a pre muffled head

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These heads are tough, durable, and generate a pretty big and articulate sound. The muffle ring doesn't dampen as much as you would think and seems to be just about the right amount (the head, on a cheaper 4" black swamp, sounds like a properly tuned head left unmuffled) and doesn't ring much at all.

Compared to the Remo Coated Diplomat, these are tougher, darker, and a little more insistent in sound (as opposed to Remo tendency to be a bit airier), but still very much in the 'almost annoyingly bright' end of the spectrum.

Remo BD-0114-00 14" Coated Diplomat, Batter

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/30/2015 2:45:00 PM
Title: As a concert head, these work

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I favor thicker heads for kit, but I have used these on concert snares.

As a concert snare head, these are very bright, very colorful, and very articulate. I'm generally happy with them.

Nitpick time: These are a hair brighter and breathe a little easier than the Evans Orchestra series. I'll let you decided if you like that. The coating for the remos is coarse and does grab at your stick a little bit (this is only an issue if you have bad technique in your buzz rolls, but it still annoyed me). Also, because the coating is so much coarser, it tends to rub off easier, leaving you without coating a bit quicker than the Evans orchestral.

Remo SK-0014-00 Skyntone 14" Drumhead

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/30/2015 2:39:00 PM
Title: Great Drum Head (for its niche)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These heads are incredibly dark and very sensitive. On toms, they are almost too airy (but I tend to favor Evans G2s), but on snares, these heads are an experience.

My first experience with these heads was a last ditch attempt to calm down an old ludwig acrolite for concert playing (broke college student) and it, for the most part, worked.

Since this experience, I have been using these skyntones on my 6.5 pearl Philharmonic paired with the renaissance snare side (yes, they package these together now... go find it). This combination, although requiring almost constant tuning, has an incredibly dark sound while maintaining sensitivity. I hate how much this phrase is undeservedly thrown around, but this combination is pretty close to real skin.

Grover T2/HTC 10" Custom Dry Heat Treated Copper Double Row Tambourine

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/30/2015 2:04:00 PM
Title: Great Tambourine

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
For reference, I own a silver/bronze hybrid, this HT copper, and two smaller tambos, one with straight bronze and the other with the same HT copper.

Compared to the Silver/Bronze hybrid, the HT copper has a far darker, more complex and crunchier tone, but a more wispy and much more delicate articulation. Compared to the straight bronze, this instrument is brighter and more complex, but still far wispier. Great for low volume band or orchestra. Find something more insistent, like the Silver/Bronze combo, for band or high volume orchestra.

Grover RR Tambourine Roll Ring

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/30/2015 1:49:00 PM
Title: It works...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I received one of these with a new tambourine. It does what it promises and is probably a good investment for programs with inexperienced percussionists. It just isn't that comfortable, nor did I feel like relearning my touch for tambourine only to have to use someone else's without a roll ring later down the road. In the end, I'm still using beeswax and practice.

Evans Hybrid SB14MHG 14 Inch Marching Snare, Gray Batter

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 7/30/2015 1:44:00 PM
Title: Decent Marching Batter Head

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These heads are a great compromise between the ever popular whitemax and blackmax heads.

My go to for marching snare batter heads is the Blackmax, but these heads are quite finicky and not the most durable when abused. The Hybrid Grey isn't as soft as the blackmax, nor does it breath as easily, but it will hold up for far longer and will take more of the little abuses that younger kids will inflict upon their instruments. Great for high school programs with a smaller budget.

Vic Firth Ted Atkatz SATK Signature Snare Sticks

Rated By: JAMES on 7/25/2015 9:42:00 PM
Title: Best general SD sticks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These are my favorite concert snare drum sticks on the market. They are perfectly balanced and are appropriate for most musical situations.

Cooperman ZN Greg Zuber "Nothung' Persimmon Snare Drum Sticks

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/27/2015 6:39:00 PM
Title: Great Big Stick

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This stick is fairly large (11/16" = .6875") with a GIANT acorn tip on a very tiny neck. The big tip creates a fairly full sounding snare sound. These sticks have a fair amount of flex, so are suited to passages with plenty of rolls, particularly loud rolls. Due to the size and flex, I find these harder to manuever for rudimental drumming.

My one complaint about these sticks is the inconsistency. Having held four or so pairs of these, I haven't found two that balance the same. My first and favorite pair (since stolen with a laptop case) were weighted very much in the hand. These were my favorite pair of sticks and I haven't found a stick I like as much. These were perfect for Scheherazade Mvt 4. One of my students has a pair that's balanced pretty close to that pair. The other pairs I've held all very a little, but generally feel more front weighted (like the mass of the stick is just in front of the hand). These just don't move quite as easily and choking up just doesn't feel right.

Pearl S-052 Snare Assembly, 6 Strand Light Cable

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/27/2015 6:29:00 PM
Title: A Different Sound...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
I bought a set of these to replace the curly wire that came stock on my 14x6.5" Maple. These snare wires are much darker than the snappies, but also a bit wetter. I ended up switching back to the snappies to bring back some of the brightness and articulation of the original sound. These come stock on many beautiful sounding drums, so I'm hesitant to say these are sub par. They probably just need to be paired with a brighter drum or head. It would be helpful if these came with their own set of clamps to facilitate faster swaps... assuming I ever find myself in a situation where I find myself swapping snares with any consistency.

Vic Firth American Custom T5 Wood Timpani Mallets

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/18/2015 2:41:00 PM
Title: The World's Most Basic Mallet

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This mallet has a good weight to it if you like the balance to be a bit up front. On timpani, this mallet can be a bit aggressive, but for tom parts and any multi percussion set up, this stick should be one of your first options.

This stick is also a good one to modify. I wrapped a pair in moleskin and they have become a great mallet for brute force moments (think of the second half of The Rite of Spring).

The one down fall of this stick is its rather brittle quality, thanks to the maple wood, but what can you do?

Vic Firth Tim Genis GEN4 Dolce Articulate Timpani Mallets

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/18/2015 2:35:00 PM
Title: A very resonant and unique mallet

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This mallet is marketed as a good choice for low volume, articulate playing. Honestly, I don't know how accurate that is for everyone. In my hands, these mallets are a bit soft with just enough front to the sound to hear rhythms. These mallets do produce a very open, resonant sound and are not unlike the Vic Firth T2 in its ability to create a very transparent ringing quality, but with a bit more point and far less weight.

Overall: Definitely a specialty mallet, so buy some more general mallets first. However, once you have a good core selection of mallets, this should be an early addition.

Pearl Philharmonic PHM-1465-204 14x6.5 Solid Maple Snare, Walnut Bordeaux

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/17/2015 11:44:00 PM
Title: Possibly the perfect snare

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This drum was recommended to me by a former teacher. We both shared a love of big, full sounding, and biting snare drums. She had mentioned that this was the only non-vintage drum to ever impress her. I have to say, she knows her snares. This drum has that certain open spectrum of sound unique to one ply snares that ply drums just can't get, but it also lacks reinforcement hoops, which really opens up the throttle on this drum. It can whisper just fine, but it can roar all day regardless of how you tune it. I highly recoomend a skyntone batter and a Renaissance snare side tuned with the bottom head a 5th lower than the top. Tune it high and it bites as well as barks, but if you tune it low, you can get a decent field drum sound from it.

Innovative Percussion Field Series FS-BK Bret Kuhn Marching Snare Sticks

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/15/2015 7:34:00 PM
Title: Great Design, Iffy Consistency

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These sticks are a beautiful design. Not as front heavy as Vic Firth's Hardimon, but still capable of some real power. Generates a dark sound compared to many other models.

The white hickory is much more consistent than the heartwood hickory IP is so invested in (for reasons that are beyond me), but the sticks are still prone to some rather odd breakage. Usually, a pair will last most of a season, but every now and then you get one that violently cracks apart on the 2nd or 3rd rimshot or cymbal hit.

Innovative Percussion James Ross IP904 Hard Xylophone/Bell Mallets

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/15/2015 7:29:00 PM
Title: Sounds Amazing, but will break quickly

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These mallets are very heavy and fairly hard. They generate a huge and very brilliant sound on xylophone and quite possibly one of my favorite mallets on the planet except for one major flaw:

These mallets will break. Quickly. I've been through a half dozen pairs of these and almost every pair starts to crack and split within 6 months. IP keeps assuring me that they have fixed the problem, but it keeps occuring. First time I had the issue was 2010; most recently during the 2014 marching season. IP comes up with some really great designs, but they really needs to get their quality control under control.

Vic Firth Orchestral M134 Medium Hard Urethane Xylophone Mallets

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 4/15/2015 7:25:00 PM
Title: Big, Dark, Versitile Mallet

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
These mallets are a heavier xylo mallet. The can be used for a wide range of instruments due to the weight (I've used them for Lang's "So Called Laws of Nature, Mvt II, for example). These mallets are quite dark and lack any real bite. They bear some relation to the James Ross Greens, but without the brilliance or articulation (but are much, much more durable).

Fender 60XL Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Guitar Strings, Extra Light

Rated By: Matthew S. on 4/8/2015 2:58:00 PM
Title: Great value, great sound

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Yes, we'd all love to own a really nice (ie: expensive) set of triangles, but it's not always within our budget. The Per Del tapered triangles offer great sound for the price. I was able to purchase a 4", 6" and 8" for less than half the price of one well known triangle. Are they the same? No, but I'm ok with it for the city concert band I'm in and the musical needs that go with it.

Grover HK-10 10" Tambourine Replacement Head Kit

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 3/28/2015 7:42:00 PM
Title: Good product, Hard procedure

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This kit is a necessary product given the unreliable nature of white calfskin heads. If you can successfully install the head, you will very likely have a better instrument than what you started with. However, the process is incredibly irritating and a bit nerve wracking if you happen to be working on a higher quality instrument. I only marked down the kit because I feel that there could be an easier way to mount, and particularly, an easier way to cut the head to size.

Innovative Percussion Chris Lamb CL-1 Maple Snare Drum Sticks

Rated By: Austin Shoupe on 3/28/2015 12:22:00 PM
Title: Fantastic Light Weight Stick

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
This stick is a great general purpose stick. It is maple, so very light weight, but the tip generates a fairly full sound. The idea that this stick is limited to pp-mf is misleading. It's a full sounding stick for a maple model.

The weight generally feels like it's placed right in front of the hand. The stick has a fair amount of flex and feels fantastic. Several of my friends have just picked up a pair I had laying around and are always shocked by how comfortable they are.

Adams Concert MCPV-43 4.3 Octave Padouk Marimba

Rated By: Max Lehnen on 11/13/2013 9:11:00 PM
Title: Deal of the century

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
If I new non-rosewood instruments sounded this good, I would have bought sooner and stopped messing around with other instruments. Yes, it sound a bit different then rosewood--better! (IMHO). Very happy with this instrument. Only wish I could afford a 5 octave instrument ;)

Majestic R50 Aluminum Black Dinner Chimes

Rated By: Adam on 10/11/2013 2:51:00 PM
Title: I have these

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Hey we have these in the Air Force. We use them for our Dining-In events. They are well-made and sound great (but they should, right? They are $180!).

Innovative Percussion Field Series FS-1 Hickory Marching Snare Sticks

Rated By: Tom on 8/22/2013 4:20:00 PM
Title: Solid IP Sticks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Our high school seems to be growing on IP. So I was interested and bought a pair. These are very consistent sticks. All of the pairs on the rack were even in weight. They are little heavier and denser than your typical stick because of the heartwood hickory. Most sticks are made out of the lighter portion on the tree like the FS-PR2's. Now what I was pleasantly surprised with was how well they perform with tape. Some sticks once you put tape on them they lose their "umph", so to say. These sticks however perform optimally with it. All in all: Great stick, tougher, slightly heavier (so it's good to play or just chop out with)

Percussion Source

McAfee SECURE sites